LOUIS MAX
FRANCAIS
ENGLISH

TRADITION AND KNOW-HOW

Tradition and know-how

Our Burgundian heritage has taught us how to make grand crus and great wines. We are using the same winemaking philosophy as our forebears, and the techniques that made Burgundian wines legend around the world.  Our red Burgundies are fermented in wooden vats, crushed under foot in the traditional manner, and then matured in oak barrels, chosen individually to best align themselves with the character of each appellation. Our care in the vineyards allows us to process the grapes half destemmed for the majority of these wines. This adds aeration to the vinification process, which results in wines of greater elegance, vitality and fruit.

MANUAL HARVEST

DESTEMMING

GRAPE SORTING

After gentle pneumatic pressing, the white wines are fermented directly in traditional Burgundian ‘pièce’ – 228L oak barrels, and matured in our 19th Century cellars for 12 months. These cellars, uniquely set back in the hillside from the town of Nuits-Saint-Georges, are surrounded by vines, and as such, when the cool and humid atmosphere cultivates its own yeasts the spores from the adjacent vineyards add complexity and individuality to our wines. Each wine, each appellation is different, so we intervene with techniques like batonnage or racking only when the wines require it. Our cellar master constantly tastes and analyses the wine to ensure a harmonious maturation.

ORGANIC VITICULTURE

For our wines from the South, we use traditional winemaking methods adapted to the terroir and grapes varieties.  For the wines of Chateau Pech Latt, the grapes are all harvested by hand, whether for red, white or rosé.  For the red wine, after a thorough sorting the grapes are fully destemmed, and then macerated in large concrete tanks for around 20 days. The use of traditional concrete tanks allows a gentle and homogenous maceration, which means extraction of the polyphenols without any bitter or harsh tannins. During the vatting, we carry out pump-overs and rack and return operations when necessary. Then the wine is gently pressed pneumatically,  and matured for at least 6months, before a light filtration and bottling.

TRADITIONAL VATS

WOODEN VAT

THE FAMOUS TASTING ROOM

For the white wine, after sorting if necessary, the grapes are pressed directly upon their arrival in the cellar and then fermented in concrete vats, with cold racking and monitored fermentation temperatures The Rosé wine is made by the traditional ‘saignée’ bleeding method. A maximum of 8 hours of maceration with skins gives us the perfect amount of colour and flavour. Cold racking and monitored fermentation temperatures.

ANCESTRAL KNOW-HOW

At Domaine la Lyre, we harvest our grapes at the optimal maturation time.  The grapes are sorted and destemmed before vatting. At the beginning of the fermentation, we carry out daily pump-overs, to ensure good aeration of the juice before letting the grapes macerate slowly for 20 days. The maturation time after the pressing is short, around 4 to 6 months; this is possible because the grapes are harvested at full maturity, so the tannins are already round and elegant.  For the white wine of the Domaine, a small part of the vineyard, the grapes are pressed directly upon their arrival in the cellar and then fermented in vats, with cold racking and monitored fermentation temperatures.

THE LOUIS MAX CELLAR IN NUITS SAINT GEORGES

EXCEPTIONAL WINES

MATURATION IN OAK BARRELS

LOUIS MAX
FRANCAIS
ENGLISH

TRADITION ET SAVOIR FAIRE

Tradition et savoir-faire

Notre héritage Bourguignon nous a appris le savoir-faire pour élaborer des grands crus et des très grands vins. Notre philosophie, pour vinifier nos vins, est la même que celle de nos ancêtres et nous utilisons les mêmes techniques, celles qui ont contribué à rendre les vins de Bourgogne légendaires aux quatre coins du monde. Nos vins rouges sont fermenté en cuve bois, foulé de manière traditionnelle aux pieds, et élevé en fûts de chêne, choisis individuellement pour s’adapter au mieux au caractère de chaque appellation. Le soin que nous apportons au vignoble nous permet de vinifier les raisins en grappes semi-entières pour la majorité des vins. Cette méthode améliore l’aération durant la vinification, ce qui confère aux vins une élégance, un fruité et une vitalité supplémentaire.

VENDANGES MANUELLES

EGRAPPAGE

LE TRI

Après un pressurage pneumatique doux, les vins blancs sont fermentés directement en « pièce » traditionnelle Bourguignonne (tonneaux de 228L), et élevé dans notre cave du XIXè siècle pendant 12 mois. Notre cave, unique en son genre, est située sur les coteaux de la ville de Nuits-Saint-Georges, au milieu des vignes. Grâce à cet emplacement exceptionnel, l’atmosphère fraiche et humide de notre cave est idéale et contient de nombreux micro-organismes issus des levures indigènes environnantes qui participent à la complexité et à la typicité de nos vins lors de l’élevage. Chaque vin, chaque appellation étant différente, nos opérations de batonnage ou de soutirage sont effectuées uniquement lorsque c’est nécessaire. Notre Maitre de Chai déguste et analyse constamment tous les vins pour s’assurer que l’élevage soit harmonieux.

VITICULTURE BIOLOGIQUE

Pour nos vins du Sud de la France, nous utilisons des méthodes de vinification traditionnelles adaptées à chaque terroir et à chaque cépage. Les raisins de nos vins de Château Pech-Latt dans le Languedoc sont tous vendangés à la main, que ce soit pour les vins rouges, blanc, ou rosés. Pour les vins rouges, les raisins sont triés au vignoble et à la cuverie avant d’être égrappés à 100% avant la macération en cuve traditionnelle qui dure une vingtaine de jours. Nous utilisions des cuves en ciment qui permettent une macération homogène, et donc une extraction douce des polyphénols et des tanins souples et ronds. Durant la fermentation, nous pratiquons des délestages et des remontages si nécessaire. Le vin est ensuite pressé doucement dans une presse pneumatique et élevé pendant 6 mois avant une très légère filtration et la mise en bouteilles.

CUVE TRADITIONNELLE

FOUDRE EN CHENE

LA FAMEUSE SALLE DE DEGUSTATION

Pour les vins blancs, les vins sont pressés directement à leur arrivée en cuverie après le tri et fermentés en cuve traditionnelles, avec un débourbage à froid et un strict contrôle des températures. Le Rosé est élaboré selon la méthode traditionnelle du « Rosé de saignée ». La macération de 8 heures maximum avec la pellicule des raisins confère au vin une couleur et un goût idéal. Débourbage à froid et strict contrôle des températures durant la vinification.

UN SAVOIR FAIRE ANCESTRAL

Au Domaine de la Lyre dans le Rhône, nous vendangeons nos raisins à pleine maturité. Ces raisins sont ensuite triés au chai et égrappés avant la mise en cuve. Au début de la fermentation, nous effectuons des opérations de remontages quotidiens pour s’assurer d’une bonne aération des jus, puis nous laissons les raisins macérer lentement pendant une vingtaine de jours. Le temps d’élevage après la macération est court, environ quatre à six mois : cela est rendu possible par la vendange à plein maturité du raisin, les tanins étant déjà bien ronds et élégants. Pour le vin blanc du Domaine, une petite partie seulement du vignoble, les raisins sont pressés directement à leur arrivée au chai et ensuite fermentés en cuves traditionnelles, avec un débourbage à froid et un strict contrôle des températures.

LA CAVE LOUIS MAX A NUITS SAINT GEORGES

DES VINS D’EXCEPTION

ELEVAGE EN FUTS DE CHENE